A- A A+

About Smart City

Tumakuru Smart City Limited (hereinafter referred as “TSCL”) a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) has been incorporated under Company’s Act 2013 on 06/02/2017. It is one of the 07 Smart cities in Karnataka taken up under Smart City Mission. The Projects under the Smart City Proposal envisages to provide the Tumakuru citizens, a Safety enabled, Smart Transit, Better Transportation and Green Infrastructure.

Know your City: : Kalpataru Naadu, Gnana Beedu (ಕಲ್ಪತರು ನಾಡು, ಜ್ಞಾನ ಬೀಡು): Tumakuru (Tumkur officially renamed as Tumakuru) is located at 13.34°N 77.1°E. It has an average elevation of 822 meters (2696 feet). The city has a station on the South Western railway, 43 m northwest from Bangalore, 130 km southeast from Chitradurga city and 130 km from Kolar City.
  • Total: 48.60 km2 (18.76 sq. mi)
  • Elevation: 822 m (2,697 ft)
Population (2011)
  • Total: 305,821
  • Density: 6,300/km2 (16,000/sq. mi)
* Demonym(s): Tumkurian
* Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30)
* Pin code (s): 572101
* Telephone code: +91-(0)816
* Vehicle registration: KA-06
* Official language: Kannada, ಕನ್ನಡ


Notable People

People from Tumkur City/District (as in the Notable People) .



1. Hemashree [wiki]
2. Jaggesh [wiki]
3. Sharath Lohitashwa [wiki]
4. K. Manju [wiki]
5. Manjula (Kannada actress) [wiki]
6. Narasimharaju (Kannada actor) [wiki]
7. Ashika Ranganath [wiki]
8. Siddhanth [wiki]


Science and Arts

1. Amarashilpi Jakanachari, sculptor [wiki]
2. Renuka Kesaramadu, painter and sculptor [wiki]
3. T. Sunandamma, writer and humorist [wiki]
4. Chi. Udayashankar, lyricist [wiki]
5. Gubbi Veeranna, theater director [wiki]
6. Raja Ramanna, Indian Physicist [wiki]
7. Gundu Hirisave Rama Rao, Scientist [wiki]
8. S. G. Siddaramayya, Poet [wiki]
9. T V N Murthy - JCI National President 2005
10. K.S.Nanjundiah, Senior Educationist
11. Dr. T S Vivekananda, Environmentalist/Writer



1. Ashokanand
2. Shyamsunder

Annual Report

Annual Return

Opine-A message


Board Of Directors

Smt. Tulasi Maddineni IAS

Chairperson, Tumakuru Smart City Limited and Secretary to Government, Backward Classes Welfare Department and Tumakuru District in Charge Secretary.

Smt Deepa Murthy Cholan

Managing Director, Karnataka Urban Infrastructure Development and Finance Corporation

Shri. Sharat B IAS

Managing Director- Karnataka Urban Water Supply Drainage Board

Smt. N. Manjushree IAS

Director of Municipal Administration

Shri. Mahantesh Bilagi I.A.S.

Managing Director- Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited

Shri. K Srinivas I.A.S

Deputy Commissioner of Tumakuru